Skip to Content

Press Releases

Guadalupe, Jim Wells, Karnes, Live Oak, and Wilson Counties Receive Federal Disaster Area Designations, De La Cruz Announces

GUADALUPE COUNTY, Texas, March 26, 2024 | Ryan Saylor (771-200-0819)

Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz was recently notified that Guadalupe, Karnes, Live Oak, and Wilson Counties in the 15th Congressional District of Texas have been declared primary federal natural disaster areas due to the recent drought. Jim Wells County was designated as a contiguous natural disaster area. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack declared the disaster on Tuesday, March 25th, 2024. A total of 91 counties in Texas were included in the disaster declaration.

A disaster declaration resulting from drought makes farmers in the eligible counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The following is important information for applicants:

  • Deadline to apply: Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from a Secretarial disaster declaration date to apply for an emergency loan.

  • FSA's consideration of applications: FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the following factors:

    • The extent of production losses on the farm;

    • The security available to repay the loan; and

    • The repayment ability of the operator.

“I urge all farmers who may be eligible to explore the options available to them at If you have questions or require assistance, please call my office at (956) 800-6069,” De La Cruz said.