Skip to Content

Press Releases

Class of 2028 Military Service Academy Classes Seated, Including Four Students from TX-15

WASHINGTON, April 18, 2024 | Ryan Saylor (771-200-0819)

Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz (TX-15) announced Thursday, April 18th, the seating of the Service Academy Class of 2028 which includes four students from TX-15.

“I am proud to announce four students from South Texas will attend our nation’s military service academies,” De La Cruz said. “In an all-volunteer military, it takes bravery, determination, and a true love of country to sign up for service. The young men and women seated from TX-15 have what it takes to succeed academically and in uniform. I am proud to call them constituents and look forward to their service and success in the academies and beyond.”

The following students were nominated by De La Cruz to the listed military service academies based on the recommendation of an independent academy advisory committee and accepted offers for classes starting this Fall:

U.S. Military Service Academy (West Point, NY):

  • James Sin; South Texas ISD World Scholars; Edinburg, TX

U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis, MD):

  • Javier Lopez; Sharyland Pioneer High School; McAllen TX

U.S. Air Force Academy (Colorado Springs, CO):

  • Leilani Touchstone; Floresville High School; Floresville, TX

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (Kings Point, New York):

  • Fredrich Buquel; Sharyland High School; Mission, TX

Unique to the Office of Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz is Fredrich Buquel’s acceptance to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, which is traditionally underrepresented in service academy nominations. Receiving a Congressional nomination is a major part of the admissions process for all military service academies, excluding the U.S. Coast Guard. The application, nomination, and selection process is among America’s most rigorous college admissions processes.