Skip to Content

Press Releases

Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz’s Disabled Veterans Housing Support Act Passes Out of Committee

Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz (TX-15) is proud to announce that the Disabled Veterans Housing Support Act passed the House Financial Services Committee. 

This bipartisan legislation aims to address the inconsistent treatment of disabled veterans seeking housing assistance, ensuring they receive the vital support they qualify for without bureaucratic headaches and red tape. The bill was introduced in response to numerous issues highlighted during Financial Services Committee hearings, where it was found that some veterans were being unjustly disqualified from certain HUD programs due to discrepancies in income verification sources.

Key measures of the Disabled Veterans Housing Support Act include:

  1. Exclusion of Service-Connected Disability Compensation: The bill mandates that service-connected disability compensation be excluded when determining eligibility for Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) assistance. This ensures that disabled veterans are not unfairly penalized when accessing essential housing support.

  2. Congressional Report Requirement: The legislation requires a comprehensive report to Congress examining how service-connected disability compensation is treated across all HUD-administered programs. This report will identify inconsistencies and provide recommendations on better serving veteran populations and underserved communities.

Congresswoman De La Cruz expressed her deep commitment to supporting veterans, stating, "Our disabled veterans have sacrificed immeasurably for our nation, and it is unconscionable that bureaucratic red tape would prevent them from accessing the housing support they need and deserve. The Disabled Veterans Housing Support Act is a vital step towards rectifying this injustice and ensuring that our veterans are consistently treated with the dignity and respect they have earned through their service."

The bill is co-led by Reps. Brad Sherman (CA-32), Susan Wild (PA-07), and Mike Lawler (NY-17). Additional co-sponsors include Reps. Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Anthony D'Esposito (NY-04), Lori Chavez-Deremer (OR-05), James Moylan (GU-AT), Juan Ciscomani (AZ-06), Randy Weber (TX-14), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Andy Barr (KY-6), Marcus Molinaro (NY-19), Rudy Yakym (IN-2), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5), Erin Houchin (IN-9), Dan Meuser (PA-9), and Pete Sessions (TX-17).